How many working days in a year?

UK

In England and Wales, in 2016 there are 253 working days and 8 bank holidays.

26 December Monday Boxing Day
27 December Tuesday Christmas Day (substitute day)
29 August Monday Summer bank holiday
30 May Monday Spring bank holiday
2 May Monday Early May bank holiday
28 March Monday Easter Monday
25 March Friday Good Friday
1 January Friday New Year’s Day

 

In Scotland, in 2016 there are 251 working days and 10 bank holidays.

30 November Wednesday St Andrew’s Day
26 December Monday Boxing Day
27 December Tuesday Christmas Day (substitute day)
1 August Monday Summer bank holiday
30 May Monday Spring bank holiday
2 May Monday Early May bank holiday
25 March Friday Good Friday
4 January Monday 2nd January (substitute day)
1 January Friday New Year’s Day

In Northern Ireland, in 2016 there are 251 working days and 10 bank holidays

26 December Monday Boxing Day
27 December Tuesday Christmas Day (substitute day)
29 August Monday Summer bank holiday
12 July Tuesday Battle of the Boyne (Orangemen’s Day)
30 May Monday Spring bank holiday
2 May Monday Early May bank holiday
28 March Monday Easter Monday
25 March Friday Good Friday
17 March Thursday St Patrick’s Day
1 January Friday New Year’s Day 

 

United States

In 2016, there are 251 working days and 10 federal holidays. Some holidays are observed by some states and not by others so the exact answer varies by state.

 

See working days in September 2016 or October 2016?

Leave a Reply: